ALL NEWS OF THE WEBSITE / MMA GIRLS / MMA-VALE-TUDO ALL

UPDATED: Sarah D’Alelio on Gina Carano: “I'm ready for this challenge”


By Guilherme CruzPhoto Daniel Archuleta/Sherdog

Known as “The Monster”, Sarah D’Alelio signed with Strikeforce and will debut on June 18th, against the biggest female MMA star: Gina Carano. Ready for the challenge, Sarah spoke with TATAME, showing much confidence.

“The preparation for this fight is going great. I feel really healthy and strong”, guarantees Sarah, ready for anything. “I never go into any fights expecting anything to happen. It’s a fight, she’s not going to do exactly what I want her to do. In fact the only expectations I have are for her to resist everything I do tooth and nail”.

Holding a professional record of four wins and one loss, she doesn’t worry about facing one of the most experienced opponents there’s out there, even if Gina’s considered to be the favorite. “That’s a funny question. I have 5 pro fights, 8 amateur fights, and numerous grappling tournaments wins. I do think I’m ready for this challenge… I think if I wasn’t ready for it Strikeforce would have never called me”.

Accepting to go up one weight division to duel with Carano, Sarah said she’s not thinking about titles yet. “I’m not even thinking past this fight, honestly. I’m just focusing on what I need to do to prepare for Gina“, guarantees, pointing out the ground game, which she used to submit the three former opponents she had to face, as the best way to win.

Even without thinking about a title, D’Alelio analyzed how it’d be to duel with the weight division’s champion, Marloes Coenen. “I’d have to study tape on her and discuss with my coaches but I think it would be a great fight”, affirmed, complimenting the champion. “She’s good. Highly intelligent, and tough as nails without any quit in her”.

Used to fight on the division below, Sarah accepted Strikeforce’s request for her to go up one weight division, fighting on the division which currently is ruled by Cristiane Cyborg. When it comes to a possible bout against the Brazilian fighter, she doesn’t say much. “I would definitely have to discuss that with my coaches (laughs)”.

UPDATE: After TATAME posted the article, Strikeforce’s Scott Coker announced that Gina Carano wasn’t cleared by the doctors, and won’t be able to fight at June 18.

http://www.tatame.com/2011/06/07/Sarah-DAlelio-on-Gina-Carano–Im-ready-for-this-challenge

THANKS FOR ACCESS, VISIT AND COMMENT, MMA SWISS TEAM

