ALL NEWS OF THE WEBSITE / BJJ WORLD / BRAZILIAN JIU-JITSU ALL

Gilbert ‘Durinho’ sees his dream coming true as he won Worlds


Report by Eduardo Ferreira, directly from California

Photo by William Burkhardt

Gilbert ‘Durinho’ is a title collector. But, on his shelf, there was a left space for one in particular. There was. Sunday, the black belt defeated Kron Gracie (9×2), and earned the title of World of Jiu-Jitsu, on the lightweight division, on an event hosted in California, United States.

Touched by his conquest, which was his biggest dream, Gilbert highlighted the big number of great athletes fighting on the lightweight division and the feeling of fulfilling his lifelong dream. After the glory, the fighter, who credited the golden medal to the fact he’s more mature now and has a better conditioning, will return to the training on Wednesday, craving to get an invitation to fight in ADCC, which happens in September this year, in England.

How does it feel to win the World?

It was a dream that came true to me. I want to become a world champion for a long time. In 2009 I almost did it, but I wasn’t really prepared for it. In 2010 I got the bronze medal, I was going through a good phase, came from World Pro, Brazil, excited about my good results, but I lost on the semifinals. This year was more complicated than that: I was coming from a loss, so I was on a rough patch.

This last defeat to Kron about a month ago, in Italy (BJJ Pro Cup), motivated me a lot to fight. I started well, but I made a mistake and he finished me. This bout motivated me a lot. When I saw him getting the title, the article being published, I said ‘I can’t believe, that’s not what I want’. On this time between the championships, about a month, I dedicated a lot. On my diet, I’m lighter now, I’m stronger, I’m better conditioned, better in Jiu-Jitsu, fitting the positions and everything. Thanks’ God it worked out. It’s a feeling of having completed something, a dream come true. I’m thrilled, super happy.

What is the difference between the current Gilbert and the old Gilbert?

I’m 24 now, more mature. World’s title was the only one I didn’t have yet. I won NoGi, World Pro, World Cup, World CBJE, so there was it. I’m more mature. I hate losing, but these losses motivated me. I’ve evolved a lot since I was beaten down by Kron and Celso (Venicius). I’ve matured up and today (Sunday) I was at my best. I guess it was the foundation for me to become the champion. I had good Jiu-Jitsu, I was on a good state of mind, had good conditioning and wanted to become the champion.

How do you see your weight division? This time the favorite ones didn’t come?

There’re only tough fighters on this division. It’s the death division, I guess that, in World, that was the toughest division. Everybody has a real chance of winning, like Leandro (Lo), (Michael) Langhi, Celso, Lucas (Lepri), JT Torres, Kron and Davi (Ramos), who was also doing great. From the quarterfinals on, everybody could win. I was on my best and that’s why I was the champion. If you’re not at your best on the lightweight division, you won’t win it because there’re too many tough guys.

Do you expect to fight at ADCC?

I keep training, being the champion or not. Wednesday I’ll go back to the trainings. There’re some guys, like (Andre) Galvao, Rafael (Mendes), Bruno (Frazzato) and (Claudio) Calasans in ADCC. I was going to train with them to help them go through this competition, and now I’m also waiting for an invitation. ADCC is another dream I have, I’m crazy about it and I’m only waiting for them to invite me.

http://www.tatame.com/2011/06/06/Gilbert-Durinho-sees-his-dream-coming-true-as-he-won-Worlds

——————

Durinho realiza sonho com título no Mundial

Reportagem Eduardo Ferreira, direto da Califórnia

Foto William Burkhardt

Durinho é um colecionador de títulos. Mas, em sua prateleira, ainda faltava um. Faltava. No domingo, o faixa-preta derrotou Kron Gracie, por 9 a 2, e conquistou o Mundial de Jiu-Jitsu, na categoria leve, realizado na Califórnia, nos Estados Unidos.

Emocionado com a conquista, que era o seu grande sonho, Durinho destacou a grande quantidade de atletas de ponta entre os leves e a sensação de conseguir cumprir seu principal objetivo. Depois da glória, o lutador, que atribuiu a medalha de ouro a seu amadurecimento e preparo físico, volta a treinar na próxima quarta-feira, de olho num convite para lutar no ADCC, que acontece em setembro deste ano, na Inglaterra.

Qual a sensação de conquistar o Mundial?

Foi um sonho que se realizou. Venho há bastante tempo querendo ser campeão. Em 2009 bati na trave, realmente acho que não estava preparado. Em 2010 fiquei em terceiro, estava em excelente fase, vim campeão do World Pro, Brasileiro, empolgado pelos bons resultados, mas perdi na semifinal. Este ano foi mais complicado: vim de derrota, não estava em boa fase.

Essa última derrota para o Kron há um mês, na Itália (BJJ Pro Cup), me motivou bastante para lutar. Comecei bem na luta, mas errei e ele acabou me finalizando. Essa luta me motivou bastante. Quando o vi recendo a premiação, a matéria saindo, falei ‘não estou acreditando, não é isso que eu quero’. Nesse um mês que tive depois do campeonato me dediquei muito em tudo. Na dieta, baixei de peso e fiquei forte; na preparação física; no Jiu-Jitsu; nas posições, em tudo. Graças a Deus deu certo. É uma sensação de concretização, de sonho realizado. Estou amarradão, felizão.

Que diferença você vê entre o Durinho atual e o das outras edições?

Estou com 24 anos, mais maduro. O Mundial era o único título que faltava. Ganhei o NoGi, o World Pro, a Copa do Mundo, o Mundial CBJE, e só faltava esse. Acho que fiquei mais maduro. Odeio perder, mas essas derrotas me motivaram. Evoluí muito na derrota para o Kron e para o Celsinho (Venícius). Amadureci e hoje (domingo) estava 100%, Acho que isso me fez ser campeão. Estava bem de Jiu-Jitsu, de cabeça, de gás e com muita vontade de ser campeão.

Como você avalia a sua categoria, onde, dessa vez, os favoritos não chegaram?

Essa categoria só tem cara duro. É a categoria da morte. Acho que, do Mundial, é a que mais tinha cara duro. E todo mundo com chance real, Leandro (Lo), (Michael) Langhi, Celsinho, Lucas (Lepri), JT Torres, Kron e o Davi (Ramos), que também vinha bem. Das quartas para frente todo mundo tinha chances reais. Acho que estava 100% e por isso saí campeão. Quem não estiver 100% no leve não leva o título porque tem muito cara duro.

Você está na expectativa de lutar no ADCC?

O treino continua, sendo campeão ou não. Na quarta-feira continuo treinando duro. Tem uma galera da academia, o (André) Galvão, Rafa (Mendes), Bruninho (Frazzato) e (Cláudio) Calasans dentro do ADCC. Já ia ter que treinar mesmo para ajudar a galera, e estou na expectativa do convite. O ADCC é outro sonho e estou louco para lutar, apenas esperando o convite.

http://www.tatame.com.br/2011/06/06/Durinho-realiza-sonho-com-titulo-no-Mundial

THANKS FOR ACCESS, VISIT AND COMMENT, MMA SWISS TEAM

